My name is Joyce Jones and I am proud to serve Holy Family Catholic School as Chair of Governors. The main aims of our Governing Body are:

  • To support our parents in the religious formation of their children.
  • To ensure that every child receives a broad and balanced curriculum.
  • To support our teaching staff as they strive to ensure that all our children achieve their academic best while also nurturing the special gifts and talents bestowed on them by God.

We do this in different ways:

  • Monitoring the Catholic Life of the school and standards of attainment in RE.
  • Monitoring the academic performance and progress of all our pupils particularly key groups of children.
  • Monitoring the health, safety and welfare of children in our school.
  • Ensuring high quality continuing professional development for our teaching staff.
  • Utilising funding and resources effectively to meet the needs of our children.
  • Prioritising whole school needs and planning ahead to ensure the school continues on its path of year on year improvement.

Our Governing Body is made up of our representatives of all the key groups involved in our school – parents, staff, the community and the Church. Some are appointed and some are elected and all serve for a term of four years.

The full Governing Body and Finance & Staffing Committee meet at least once each term. We have sub groups which meet as required and focus on Health & Safety and the Curriculum. We have designated Governors for SEN and Child Protection.

If you would be interested in serving on the Governing Body please contact me through the school office. The Governing Body is also keen to hear your views and you can contact me through the school by letter or telephone.

Mrs Joyce Jones
Chair of Governors

Members of our Governing Body

Name Title/Role Committees Class Link Term Ends
Mrs J Jones Chair of Governors, Foundation Governor Finance/ Curriculum/ SEN Link Year 4 2019
Mrs P Bhaker Foundation Governor Maths Link Reception 2018
Mrs C Edwards Foundation Governor PE Link Year 2 2019
Mr P Gray Foundation Governor Curriculum/RE Link Year 5 2017
Fr P Griffin Foundation Governor Finance Year 3 2018
Mrs J Collins Foundation Governor Curriculum Year 4 2021
Mrs K Meehan Foundation Governor Curriculum/ Literacy/EYFS Year 1 2018
Mrs S Ahmad Parent Governor Science Link Nursery 2019
Mr G Ahmed Vice Chair, Parent Governor Finance/ Safeguarding/ Computing Link Year 6 2018
Mrs V Gibbons Associate Governor     2017
(vacancy) LA Governor     -
Mr P Foley Headteacher Finance/ Curriculum   -
Mrs P King Staff Governor Curriculum   2020
Mrs C Jukes Clerk to the Governors     -

Also see:

The Chair of Governors can be contacted via the school.